CIOarts Logo

CIOarts is a nonprofit organization dedicated to bringing technology leaders in performing arts, presenting cultural institutions and museums together to share knowledge, best practices, and experiences.


The CIOarts is a non-profit organization dedicated to bringing technology leaders in performing arts, presenting cultural institutions, and museums together to share knowledge, best practices, and experiences.CIOarts membership includes:

  • An online, collaborative forum with your peers

  • Document Repository

  • Weekly, Virtual Coffee Hour

  • You will also have access to register for our annual conference. (A separate fee applies).


The forums and networking opportunities discuss a wide range of topics such as:

  • Organizational Structure

  • Strategy and Technology Trends

  • Job Descriptions and Salaries

  • Business Intelligence / Machine Learning / Artificial Intelligence

  • Data Security

  • Microsoft 365

  • Ticketing, Event Management, Fundraising

  • Point of Sale, HVAC, and Security Systems

  • Infrastructure, Hardware, and Operating Systems

  • General Ledger, Payroll, and HRIS Systems

  • Inventory and Asset Management

Apply For Membership

CIOarts membership is limited to those mission-driven cultural institutions
that will be represented by an employee who is directly responsible for planning
and implementing technology solutions.
CIOarts membership costs $200 and is annually billed each calendar year.

Add Secondary to Existing Membership

2024 CIOarts Conference

Engage with IT leaders from arts organizations all around the world for our annual conference with vendor-agnostic presentations, round table discussions, and more.March 27-29, 2024
(Tessitura Meet-Up on March 26th)
San Francisco, CA at SFMOMA
The CIOarts Board is looking forward to connecting with all of you in person.2024 Conference Site (including registration, hotel and schedule)

Member Organizations

Alley Theatre
Alvin Ailey
Arsht Center
Baltimore Symphony Orchestra
Blumenthal Performing Arts
Boston Symphony Orchestra
Broward Center
California Academy of Sciences
Canadian Opera Company
Carnegie Hall
Chicago Shakespeare
Chicago Symphony
Childrens Science Center
Clark Art Institute
Columbus Association for the Performing Arts
Computer History Museum
Curtis Institute of Music
Dallas Symphony
Denver Center for Performing Arts
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Dr. Phillips Center
Florida Studio Theatre
Frist Art Museum
Frost Science
Grand Theatre
Historic New England
Houston Ballet
Houston Symphony
Houston Zoo, Inc.
Intrepid Sea, Air, & Space Museum
Kennedy Center
Kentucky Performing Arts
Kimmel Center
Kravis Center
LA Phil
Liberty Science Center
Lincoln Center
Lucas Museum of Narrative Art
Lyric Opera of Chicago
Massey Hall and Roy Thomson Hall
Metropolitan Opera
Midland Center
Minneapolis Institute of Art
Minnesota Orchestra
Monterey Bay Aquarium
Museum of Fine Arts, Houston
Museum of the City of New York
Museum of the Moving Image
Nashville Symphony
National Arts Centre
National Ballet of Canada
New World Symphony
New York City Center
Omaha Performing Arts
Ordway Center
Overture Center
Perelman Center
Performing Arts Fort Worth
Philadelphia Museum of Art
Pittsburgh Cultural Trust
Playhouse Square
Proctors Collaborative
Public Theatre
Ravinia Festival
Roundabout Theatre Company
Ruth Eckerd Hall
San Francisco Conservatory of Music
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
San Francisco Symphony
Science Museum of Minnesota
Segerstrom Center
Shakespeare Theatre Company
Shaw Festival
Shedd Aquarium
Stratford Festival
Straz Center
Symphony Space
Tennessee Performing Arts Center
The Franklin Institute
The Jewish Museum
The Joffrey Ballet
The Menil Collection
The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
The Tech Interactive
Walton Arts Center and Walmart AMP
Whitney Museum of American Art
Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Board of Directors

Dan Hoffer (President)
The Pittsburgh Cultural Trust
Robert Schmidlapp (Vice President)
Kentucky Performing Arts
Matthew Bogen (Secretary)
Frist Art Museum
Andrew Segaloff (Treasurer)
Raymond F. Kravis Center for the Performing Arts
Robert Schoneman (Communications Chair)
Blumenthal Performing Arts
Chris Sonnemann (At Large)
The National Ballet of Canada
Jaime Lemus (2024 Conference Chair)
California Academy of Sciences
Leo Ballate (2024 Conference Chair)
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
James J Thompson (Founding Director)
Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts


Questions? Comments? We'd love to hear from you.

© 2023 CIOarts. All rights reserved.